Revenue churn can happen because of many reasons. However, downgrades, subscription cancellations, or customers who head to the competition are the primary reasons for revenue churn.
It is indispensable to differentiate between gross revenue churn and net revenue churn when looking at this metric.
Gross revenue churn:
Revenue lost because of subscription cancellations or failed renewals.
Net revenue churn:
Revenue lost due to subscription cancellations or failed renewals, modified by expansion revenue based on upgrades or cross-sells from remaining customers.
Gross revenue churn does not consider any revenue gained from expansion revenue. For example, if you have lost €200 from cancellations but gained €600 from upgrades or cross-sells, this will not be shown in gross revenue churn. It is mandatory to calculate net revenue churn as well, since gross revenue churn only tells you how much you’ve lost, but not by how much you’ve compensated the losses.
How to calculate gross revenue churn
For example, if you have lost €30 due to downgrades and cancellations and you had €120 of revenue at the beginning of the month, your gross revenue churn is 25%.
Gross revenue churn = €30 / €120 = 25%
How to calculate net revenue churn
Let’s make an example: If you have lost €30 due to downgrades and cancellations, but you have gained €10 due to up-sells, and had €120 of revenue at the beginning of the month, your net revenue churn is 16%.
Net revenue churn = (€30 – €10) / €120 = 16%
Negative churn – the holy grail
How to improve revenue churn
• Reward people to upgrade
• Make upgrading to higher plans easy
• Provide value regularly
• Improve and expand your service